Committee Members

NZCCL is managed by an Executive Committee who are committed to championing civil liberties.

Current Committee Members

Thomas Beagle, Chairperson

Thomas has had a long involvement with computers and the IT industry. He is increasingly concerned by the way that civil liberties, particularly the right to privacy, are being eroded by advances in technology. However, he is no luddite and believes that modern technology can be used to increase democratic participation and hold government to account.

He is also the co-founder and spokesperson for Tech Liberty, a lobby group dedicated to "defending civil liberties in the digital age".


Kevin McCormack, Secretary and Treasurer

Kevin has been involved with NZCCL for the past 15 years, and at various times he has beenthe President, Treasurer and now Secretary/Treasurer. He is interested in the rational justification for change, and in ensuring that there is a fair balance between entitlements and responsibilities.

Kevin's working life involved a significant period in the Public Service where he held various senior statutory and administrative positions, and in the NZ Dairy Board covering a variety of roles. He is now retired from paid employment and leads a very active and involved life.


Oliver Lineham

Oliver is the administrator of, a site to assist public access to official information. His main interests are democracy, human rights, the environment and technology. By day he is a consultant working at the intersection of networking, security, and web technologies.